House of Consignment: eDrop-off Review

edrop-off review chicago store corri mcfadden

House of Consignment on VH1 starring Corri McFadden of eDrop-Off in Chicago

When it comes to clothes and shoes, I love to shop second-hand. Each piece carries its own history and you can always find an amazing one-of-a-kind item. In my college days and quite recently as well, I swapped and thrifted my way into a stellar designer lineup at an astonishingly low cost, including a pristine Fendi wallet and a gorgeous Marc Jacobs leather handbag. In the past my entrepreneurial spirit had me scouring second-hand stores for items to resell as well, so needless to say I was thrilled when I heard about House of Consignment on VH1.

The first season came and went last summer, but if you missed it – here’s a recap. The impossibly stylish Corri McFadden is the owner of eDrop-Off, a Chicago-based online consignment shop she started right out of college. Corri and various EDO employees often go on closet clean-outs, visiting local spendthrifts with walk-ins that look like a Barneys catalog and editing their selection by taking out some key pieces to sell on eBay. As someone who loves small businesses and would love to start my own, I loved seeing behind the scenes of a second-hand fashion company, and Corri’s ambition is both endearing and inspiring. Thus, I decided to send some of my finds over to EDO and see what they could do.

Michael Kors dress

I filled out a form on the EDO website listing the things I wanted to sell and waited for approval. Then, I was sent a consignment agreement that earned them 40% commission – not bad, considering many stores around here take 60% or more. So off went a pair of Minnetonka boots, the Michael Kors dress, an Armani blazer and more. The items were professionally photographed and posted on eBay in just a couple of weeks, and I stalked them every day to see how the bids were progressing. I noticed an error on the size of the boots and emailed my contact – she removed the listing and began another one from scratch to give me the full seven days of a corrected auction. After my items sold, I got my check within a few weeks with a detailed invoice. Super easy!

House of Consignment essentially proves that thrifting doesn’t have to mean sifting through muumuus and dated T-shirts – it can be upscale and luxurious, and you can get plenty of incredible designer items for far less than retail if you keep a good eye out. And now that I’ve been on both sides of things, I can tell you that it’s a pretty great place to bring your no-longer-loved clothing and accessories as well.

Here’s some links for you to check out:

Comment

