Urban Decay Friends & Family Sale

Urban Decay Friends and Family Sale 2013

This just in: Urban Decay is extending its annual Friends & Family sale for another day, so you have until midnight tonight (PST) to score 20% off of some of the most vivid and pigmented products you can find. Eye makeup is my forte, and this brand’s shadows and liners have long been some of my favorites, so I’ll share with you a few key items you should make sure to check out before the sale ends.

Urban Decay Naked 1 eyeshadow palette

The original Naked Palette, $50 ($40 with discount), is one of the few makeup items I own that I can say I use on a daily basis. Twelve neutral shadows with matte and shimmery finishes range from pretty nudes to dark and sexy shades, and is packaged with an eyeshadow brush and the signature Urban Decay Primer Potion. If you’re new to UDPP, all you need is a tiny bit smeared over your lids so the shadows’ true colors shine when applied, and it ups the staying power, too. This palette is so versatile because you can do everything from au naturel looks for the day to a glimmering smokey eye at night in all sorts of color combinations. My favorite combo that takes you from day to night without having to change a thing is a lid covered in Sidecar, with Darkhorse in the outer V and Naked to blend. Takes 2 minutes! I also appreciate the packaging here, because Urban Decay’s palettes often come in unnecessarily large and boxy designs and it seems like so much cardboard and space wasted.

Urban Decay Smoked eyeshadow palette

My second favorite from Urban Decay, the Smoked palette, $49 ($39.20 with discount). My personal style is a bit dark, and so it goes with my makeup preferences as well. I will wear dramatic eyeshadow all day, erry day (when I’m not being lazy) and these super-pigmented colors are perfect for the looks I want to achieve. I love that it comes with a couple matte nudes, which are great for blending into the brow, and the packaging is cool, too, with zipper closure that keeps everything safe and sound. Smoked comes with UDPP and 24/7 eyeliner in Perversion, their darkest black liner yet. But more about 24/7s in a minute. A booklet is also included that has little tutorials on 12 different smoldering looks you can try with the shadows. My favorite combo? Apply Rockstar wet all over the lid, Blackout in the outer V (with a light hand, you can build to your desired color), and Mushroom in the inner corners to highlight.

Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencils

I wish I owned every single one of these 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencils, $19 each ($15.20 with discount). The texture is so smooth and creamy and it doesn’t skip across your skin, perfect for smudging into your lash line or blending upward into your lid, and when it sets, you’ll get hours and hours of wear. As you know, I live for my cat eye, and these liners allow me to mix things up a bit with a bright line of color. Sometimes you can create a whole look with just a couple of these shades. For example, I love doing a double-liner look with Electric, topping my usual black wing with a bold strip of turquoise. It’s an easy way to get a little funky without having to spend time perfecting your shadow blending skills.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

And you should buy these just because – the two-pack Travel Size Eyeshadow Primer Potion, $9, in Original (invisible) and Eden (matte). You truly need only a minimal smear of product on your lid anytime you use it, so these babies last for a long time, and they’re only nine bucks ($7.20 with the discount). You’re also getting more product per dollar this way, and if you buy two travel packs, you’re getting more product than you would in one full-size Primer Potion for less money. (One full size UDPP = 0.37oz @ $20, 2 travel pack UDPP = 0.13oz(x4) = 0.52oz @ $18, $14.40 with discount.)

To take advantage of the sale, enter code FFSPRING13 for 20% off at checkout. You have until 11:59PM PST! Let me know if you get anything in the comments below 🙂

Comment

