Thrift store finds: L.A.M.B.

Gwen Stefani L.A.M.B. Donegal Hella Hobo handbag with guitar strap from the 2004 Fall/Winter collection

Just like everyone else on earth, the new year has inspired me to start anew, causing me to temporarily, and counterintuitively, turn our home into a disaster area in order to decrease clutter. I’m starting from one end of the apartment and working my way to the other side, bit by bit, and luckily one of my first stops is the closet.

I resolved to never make any more resolutions many years ago because I rarely follow through, but I’m starting off 2013 by making more thoughtful purchases and, before that, shopping my own wardrobe. Things get stuffed in the back or put on shelves you forget exist, like my beautiful L.A.M.B. handbag I discovered at a local thrift shop three years ago.

Back in 2004, I was obsessed with L.A.M.B. bags (and I may or may not have purchased another one from Hautelook today). I hadn’t even graduated high school by that point, so needless to say, I couldn’t afford any of them. While I’ve learned that you don’t need to be covered head-to-toe in designer labels to look good since then, I still kept a special place in my frugal little heart for Gwen Stefani’s creations – she is my style icon, after all. So after a much-needed wintertime pedicure on Newbury Street, I decided to stop in second-hand shop Rescue just to take a peek. There were some great items on the racks for awesome prices (Marc by Marc Jacobs, Nanette Lapore) but as I made my way to the back of the store I found the gem I had been waiting for, six years later.
Gwen Stefani L.A.M.B. Donegal Hella Hobo handbag with guitar strap from the 2004 Fall/Winter collection
L.A.M.B. Donegal Hella Hobo handbag with guitar strap from the 2004 Fall/Winter collection.
I’m glad I never forked over hundreds of my hard-earned dollars back in the day because this bag is not only in impeccable condition, it was only $21!!! Good things DO come to those who wait, and it always pays to be thrifty!
What is the best item you’ve found at a second-hand shop?
One thought on “Thrift store finds: L.A.M.B.

Comment

