Tracklist Unveiled for HBO ‘Girls’ Soundtrack

The first season of HBO’s “Girls” was met with mixed, polarized emotions from critics and viewers alike. Lena Dunham’s cringeworthy Hannah Horvath and friends either delighted you with their relatability as perpetually lost 20-somethings or made you stabby in their oblivious 20-something entitlement. The show returns on January 13 for round two whether you like it or not (see trailer here), coming right on the heels of the brand new soundtrack from season one, to be released January 8.

HBO Girls Soundtrack Volume 1Photo: HBO/Fueled by Ramen

“Music is such a huge part of my creative process. I make playlists to write by and listen to as I head to set in the morning, and I experiment in editing with songs that the characters would love and that accurately reflect their struggles,” Dunham said in a  press release, according to Pitchfork. “[Girls’ music supervisor] Manish Raval and I are crazy about everything from the pop that teen girls devour to the niche indie rock from days of yore. To collaborate with [record label] Fueled by Ramen and so many artists who inspire me on this compilation is a dream.”

Girls – Volume 1: Music from the HBO Original Series is an upstanding collection of songs from Season 1, complete with a couple new tunes by Santigold and fun. (whose guitarist dates Dunham). The album will have a standard release, as well as a deluxe edition available digitally with four additional songs.

Tracklist (for standard release):

1. Robyn – “Dancing on My Own”
2. fun. – “Sight of the Sun”
3. Harper Simon – “Wishes and Stars”
4. Santigold – “Girls”
5. White Sea – “Overdrawn”
6. Grouplove – “Everyone’s Gonna Get High”
7. Icona Pop – “I Love It”
8. The Echo-Friendly – “Same Mistakes”
9. Belle & Sebastian – “I Don’t Love Anyone”
10. Fleet Foxes – “Montezuma”
11. Oh Land – “White Nights”
12. The Vaccines – “Wreckin’ Bar (Ra Ra Ra)”
13. Lia Ices – “Love Is Won”
14. Michael Penn – “On Your Way”

Extra tracks on the digital edition include Sleigh Bells’ “Infinity Guitars,” “Fool to Cry” by Tegan & Sara, The Troggs’ “With a Girl Like You,” and Generationals’ “Yours Forever.”

You can stream Santigold’s title track below, and I’ve put together a Spotify playlist with all the songs I could find from the deluxe edition. But like the Amish days of yore when waiting for the doors to open at Strawberries was the highlight of your week, you’ll just have to wait until the album is released to hear it all.