Review: Clinique Brush-On Cream Liner

Clinique Brush-On Cream Liner in True Black

We all have a favorite part of our makeup routine. While I love to experiment with different eyeshadows and lipsticks, the one thing that I always pair with a new look is my trusty black eyeliner. I was 14 when I wore my first cat-eye and never looked back. Whether it’s a simple and work-friendly thin line or a multi-colored, double-winged art project, this is the one part of my routine that I can’t live without, which is why I want to rave to you about Clinique Brush-On Cream Liner. I’ve been using this product almost every day since I discovered it several years ago, have recommended it to tons of people, and changed some lives in the process. It’s that good. Onto the review:

Packaging: The package looks small but my last pot lasted a good three years, the screw-top lid keeps the cream fresh and smooth. This eyeliner comes with a teeny straight-top brush that might work for you, but I hated it. See below for applications recommendations.

Formula & Texture: The formula is light and creamy so it glides onto your lid easily no matter how much product you’ve packed onto the brush. It’s thin, but pigmented, so a little can go a long way.

Application: I wasn’t a fan of the included brush, it was too small and the straight top is not conducive to a good wing. The color itself can be buildable, but it’s very easy to get an opaque line in one or two swipes. Start by applying from the center and outward, moving closer to the inner eye as the product thins in the brush so you don’t get a huge glob right in the corner of your eye (that will be a pain to remove if you already have eyeshadow on). As for brushes, I prefer angled ones that aren’t too stiff. My number one favorite is theBalm Shady Lady Liner Brush ($8) because the bristles are limber and pretty much make the cat-eye wing for you. An even less expensive brush I use sometimes is the e.l.f. Studio Small Angled Brush ($3), taller and a little thicker, but works just as well.

Wear: This eyeliner does not BUDGE, unless you get caught in the rain or something, but even then your mascara will be the first to go. Once in a while I am guilty of the biggest sin of all, sleeping in my makeup, and I still wake up with perfectly lined eyes. And the most important thing of all? It never flakes. Ever!

Purchase: $15.00 at Clinique and Sephora. Available in three shades. Pictured above and below is True Black.

Aesthete News glitter Cat-eye eyeliner

Photos: Aesthete, please provide credit if using these images.